Stephie got a big old bus

Welcome to my bus conversion! At the request of some awesome friends I am going to keep everyone up to date on this project via this blog. So let me start by saying I made a decision to build a tiny home. Now on to the rest….

When you buy a bus at a government auction, you may get to meet the mayor!

When you buy a bus at a government auction, you may get to meet the mayor!

About two weeks ago I bought a bus at an online auction. The bus was in Shelbyville TN, and the auction was at govdeals.com. I had a friend of a friend, who is now a friend (thanks Randall and Kevin!), drive over and check it out to be sure it was worth bidding on, and after a thumbs up from Randall the bidding began. I planned to spend about $3000, so when I won the auction at $2125 I was pretty stoked! Last weekend I drove over to Tennessee and spent some quality time with my daughters, Kelsey and Taylor, and my friends Steve and Mary. Kora traumatized Steve’s chickens and I got to watch the first episode of the new season of Walking Dead. Steve cooked some great meals, Mary refused to let me help her clean, and there was football and laying around doing nothing. It was fabulous, and we discovered that chickens do have short term memory.

Kelsey helped me work up the courage to drive the bus home... XO!

Kelsey helped me work up the courage to drive the bus home… XO!

On Monday Kelsey and I drove over to Shelbyville and picked up my bus. After a quick tutorial and practice run around the neighborhood with one of the bus drivers (basically, don’t hit a stop sign when you’re turning and don’t pump air brakes, and it looks like you need to stay right but actually you need to stay left.) I drove it back to Steve and Mary’s back yard…

Isn't she beautiful?

Isn’t she beautiful?

Anyhoo…. The bus is a 2000 International diesel, 60 passenger bus. The living space will be about 220 square feet. It has 98,000 miles on it and runs well. I chose a bus because it costs less than a trailer bed and it already has an engine, and I can use it as an RV when I no longer need it to live in. Also it’s way more romantic than an RV. Yes I just said that.

I am SO happy for all the love and support for my tiny home project. More to come….

Kora approves of the bus

Kora approves of the bus

2 thoughts on “Stephie got a big old bus

Leave a Reply

