FRILUFTSLIV

It’s been a few weeks since the last update, and a lot of work has happened on the tiny home bus. But before we check out the progress….

I heard that Steve’s neighbor might be willing to make a sign for the bus! I planned to name the bus, but this news sped up the process a bit. I thought about naming her Betty… but then I remembered this article I read about celebrations around the world. This Norwegian celebration, which is more of a cultural belief, summarizes the tiny home living concept for me:

Friluftsliv is a Norwegian word loosely translated as β€œopen air life,” which characterizes Norwegian culture. Norwegians embrace nature and enjoy the outdoors as a way of life. Ultimately, friluftsliv offers the possibility of recreation, rejuvenation and restoring balance among living things.

So, now that she has a name, let’s check in on Steve and Kevin to find out what has been happening as far as construction…

First the futon frame. Steve built this from scratch, which is very impressive to me and probably others… the frame slides out so the futon mattress can lay flat when people visit. The frame also has hinges and there is storage space underneath. So Cool.

IMG_2232 IMG_2231 IMG_3070 IMG_3071 IMG_3064 IMG_3060

Another super cool feature… the bus doors have been put together into one door, with a handle and a lock~

IMG_2264 IMG_3065

The back door of the bus is also lockable. So no worries family, I will be safe at night in my tiny home!

IMG_2270The electric panel is installed and all the electrical wiring has been run. The plumbing is also all in and the water hoses… I honestly can’t tell which is which so here it all is. See the electrical outlets? I am excited about this.

IMG_2253 IMG_2244Β  IMG_2248 IMG_2250 IMG_2251 IMG_2254

This is the shower pan, one of the more expensive items at $130. By the way we are about done buying stuff… any guesses as to how much money we have spent so far?

IMG_3068

The bus will have a composting toilet, but is also plumbed for a regular toilet in the event that I find a place with sewer or septic.

IMG_3067Yesterday Steve and Mary had a little soiree, and used the manpower that showed up for that to put the refrigerator/freezer and the washer/dryer on the bus. I can’t wait to see what it looks like. Today I provided specs for my “entertainment center,” consisting of my television and my Bose woofer and speakers. These will sit across from the couch in the living room.

The ceiling is almost done, as you can see from the picture at the top. They used Flexall in the seams to prevent in flight cracking, and Mary and I picked out a nice warm white for the ceiling and walls. Kevin found a used bathroom vanity which I will not show you until I have the before and after, because I think it’s going to be pretty amazing. Another item they are re-purposing is this solid wood door, which will be the kitchen counter, and the marble that Kevin brought will be the bathroom vanity top.

IMG_2255Seriously, guess how much we’ve spent so far on this bus…?

(Remember, the labor is free… and Kevin and Steve are fantastic friends, and also probably a little insane to consider this huge effort fun, but we don’t talk about that.) πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “FRILUFTSLIV

    • Cool! Can’t believe I guessed that close but I am connected spiritually with my dear Steph so she must’ve sent me a clue!😊

      Like

  1. I’m going to guess a total of $5,000 so far including bus cost. It really looks wonderful. Steve’s artistry and skill is amazing.
    And I love the name!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

