Reality: Tiny Home Living

As I sit listening to the rain fall on the well-sealed roof (roofing tar, folks, it’s a miracle worker) with Mazzy Starr streaming on my Pandora via shared wireless, my feet are propped up on the stove and I sit on my daughter’s bed/the couch, I can honestly say I think it’s going to be alright.

The Hardest Part: driving the bus home, and then up the steep driveway and into this spot. Scary is the right word to describe the overall feel of that event. Other feeling words: anxiety, panic, distress. And then a sense of accomplishment and desire to never repeat the experience.

BEFORE I drove the bus 300 miles. There is no after picture.

BEFORE I drove the bus 300 miles. There is no after picture.

The best things about the bus:

1. The Closet. It is huge and amazing, and holds all of my clothes plus a bunch of other stuff.

2. The Kitchen. See: IMG_3614

OK that’s a little blurry… but basically I love the butcher block countertop and all the space. You can tell someone who cooks a lot designed this kitchen (that is not me, that is Steve).

IMG_3615

I will probably put the food in the cabinets underneath and move prettier things to these shelves eventually, but I need to get some shelving in the cabinets before I can do that. But there is PLENTY of space for everything in the kitchen.

3. Toilet. Yeah, the composting toilet didn’t last long. I would advise that if you are going to do a composting toilet and really want it to work, buy a composting toilet. There was about a week or so of peeing in the woods… if you want to know why just message me… until we got the real toilet in. I love the flushing toilet.

IMG_3618

4. The Outdoors, and other places that are not the bus!

So I cancelled my Netflix subscription because I didn’t think we would have internet. it turns out my neighbor is willing to let us use theirs for half the bill. There was a two week period where we had no internet, and now I’m sort of used to it. I have already read a book and started another, enjoyed some stay-cationing in Asheville and other nearby towns, played catch with dogs, etc….. there’s only so much one can do on the bus, and there is So. Much. More. going on in the rest of the world. My friend Theresa said that everything I got rid of in my life was going to open up space for new things. True statement.

Here  are a couple of “tiny homes” I saw while hiking around the rest of the world…

IMG_3580 IMG_3570

And here are some other fun things I have done:

IMG_3603

Catching up with friends!

IMG_3584

IMG_3585

Playing catch in the big field below our house…

Live music at Ben's Tuneup

Live music at Ben’s Tuneup

Drive through the countryside with Kelsey

Drive through the countryside with Kelsey

5. Air Conditioner. It works great.

**The most magical moment on the bus was when we plugged it in to the power source and everything turned on.**

Top 5 most challenging aspects of living on the bus:

1. Mud. It’s been raining here since we parked, more or less, and we are parked on the side of a hill that was dug out in order to accommodate the bus. Red Clay. Good news is the washer/dryer works great!

IMG_35582. Water. There have been some fixes needed on the plumbing and the roof. These are all done now, except for a washer on the hot water in the kitchen sink and troubleshooting some leaking of the pipes under the sink. My advice if you have roof leaking issues: roofing tar. It works tiny miracles.

3. Space. The bus was designed for one person, and currently there are two of us living on the bus. The good news is that under the bus is a great place to store things in plastic bins, my friend Mandi has let me store some things at her house, and we had all that room in the back of the bus. We put some shelves back there and Kelsey is able to keep all her things back there, plus on the rod Steve installed in the front of the bus.

The lived-in look.... :)

The lived-in look…. 🙂

Clothes hanging at the front of the bus

Clothes hanging at the front of the bus

4. Refrigerator. It quit working about 3 days after I turned it on. We have basically been using the refrigerator as a large cooler, adding ice as necessary, until the nice repairman came back today to change out the part they ordered. The bad news: it doesn’t seem like the refrigerator is getting very cold since he left. The good news: it’s under warranty, so they will probably just bring me a new one.

I can’t think of a 5th issue! I want to continue to thank everyone who supported this adventure!! Steve, what are you doing with your time?? I have some folks waiting in line for the next tiny home you build!

6 thoughts on “Reality: Tiny Home Living

  1. I see what you mean about the compost toilet. A guy on youtube, got hit by a strict NY zoning inspector. The zoning guy approved him an “Airhead” composting toilet as the only one he could have. To me the “Airhead” seems to be a replica of “Nature’s Head”. That one you have to buy peat moss and turn a crank and it breaks down and is then biodegradable. Both the ones I mentioned above are around $950 or so, cheap as pre-fab composting units go. I have not looked into it thoroughly yet, but plan on it, as dealing w/ regular empties of a septic tank may not be my best option for that long. I will follow and let you know when I get more info from doing the research.

    Also love that sofa. Looks so comfy. Also love the way you can just change the cover on it~

    Like

  2. Do you travel in the bus or is it primarily stationary? If you do, what’s the mileage like? How are you heating, watering, and lighting the place? How long did it take for the conversion?

    Like

    • The bus is stationary, but in good driving condition. I am not sure about the mileage, probably 8 or 10 miles per gallon? I have 50amp power to the bus, and a water hookup and small septic system. It took about 9 months… it’s not completely finished. Eventually I would like to paint it and make it “RV” by adding holding tanks and stuff.

      Like

    • I think the answer varies depending on the state you are in. I believe I don’t have to have one in TN, but possibly in NC… I have heard rumors that they are trying to pass a law that anyone driving an RV has to have a CDL in NC.

      Like

Leave a Reply

